Commission Special Meeting Agenda

Friday, May 16, 12-12:30 pm



I. 12p Chair Hubbard Welcome, Call to Order

Roll Call, Anastasia Matheison, GOCS Administrative Specialist

- a. Commissioners Present: Chair Morgan Hubbard, Pete Pace, Jim Swan, Kevin Myhre, Dawn English, Clifford Kipp, Kami Kirchberg, Jim Larson, Vicki Turner, Kelly Ackerman, Thomas Risberg, Rebecca Harbage
- b. GOCS Staff Present: Sarah Sadowski, Director; Keena Irby, Fiscal Officer; Kristina Jordan, Program Officer; Anastasia Matheison, Administrative Specialist
- c. Guests: Erin Butts, Community Volunteer Grant Reviewer; Duane Schlabach, Fish, Wildlife & Parks; Bobbi deMontigny, Montana State Library; Josh Vanek, Montana Network for Civic Engagement; Kailyn Mock, Angela Davis, MSU Office of Rural Health and Area Health Education Centers; Emma O'Neil, Montana Legal Services Association

II. 1210p New Business, Commissioner Kipp

AmeriCorps Formula Funding Recommendation & Contingency – action item

- a. Commissioner Kipp reviewed the Funding Recommendation and summarized the proceedings of the Grant Review on May 14th
 - i. Chair Hubbard called for a motion on the Spring 2025 AmeriCorps Formula Funding Recommendation as presented
 - ii. Commissioner Swan moved to approve recommendation as presented
 - iii. Commissioner Turner seconded
 - 1. Motion approved by acclamation

III. 1226p Public Comment

- a. Duane Schlabach, FWP: Thank you all for your continuous commitment to service and thank you to GOCS staff for their persistence in providing contingency plans.
- b. Commissioner English: Learned so much last year on the grant review committee. Thank you to the review committee this year for their problem-solving skills.
- c. Josh Vanek, MCNCE: We appreciate the thoughtfulness and comments of the Commission, review committee, and GOCS staff. We are excited to submit a planning grant this year.

IV. 1229p Adjourn

a. Meeting adjourned by Chair Hubbard

The next regularly scheduled Commission meeting is Thursday June 5, 2025, 1pm followed by the ServeMontana Awards Ceremony, Friday June 6, 2025 at 1030a

Governor's Office of Community Service PO Box 200801, Helena, MT 59620

p. 406.444.9077, email: serve@mt.gov