ServeMontana Awards


Awards Process

The Governor’s Office of Community Service and the Montana Commission on Community Service are proud to present the ServeMontana Awards. The purpose of these awards is to recognize individuals of all ages and backgrounds who, through their dedication and commitment to community service, have greatly enhanced civic life in Montana.

We invite you to nominate individuals and organizations who:

  • Volunteer in ways that cause a lasting change in people’s lives
  • Demonstrate a strong commitment to serving their community
  • Engage in service that greatly benefits others
  • Exhibit leadership in their service
  • Represent determination and perseverance

These awards represent the best in positive community change through service, volunteerism and community leadership.

To nominate an individual or organization for the 2016 ServeMontana Awards, click on this link.

*To download a PDF of the nomination form, click here.


The public is encouraged to nominate individuals of all ages and backgrounds, organizations, and groups. All services must be performed in Montana or by a Montanan.


The Montana Commission on Community Service, a Governor-appointed body dedicated to promoting service in Montana, will select the award winners.


All nominations for the 2016 Awards must be received by December 6, 2015.

The Commission will review nominations in December and the Awards will be presented during a ServeMontana award ceremony in February 2016.


Congratulations to the 2015 ServeMontana Award Recipients!

View pictures from the award ceremony 

ServeMontana Award Recipients:

William Snell, Billings: Founder of the Pretty Shield Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization that provides charitable and educational services to Montana American Indian communities.
Tom Meskimen, Martin City: Volunteer with the Martin City Fire Department for over 20 years.
Big Sky Youth Empowerment, Bozeman: Through the use of creative programs and outdoor activities, volunteers mentor at-risk youth and help them through difficult challenges.
Friends of the Montana Historical Society, Helena: 130 members who together devote an average of 600 hours per month volunteering to preserve, protect, and promote Montana history.
Beth Morris, Ravalli County: Disaster Action Team (DAT) volunteer and statewide Duty Officer Supervisor for the American Red Cross.
Thompson Falls Student Council: Student-led organization that organizes volunteer activities to care for the community.
Mary Olson, Missoula: Certified State Health Insurance Program (SHIP) counselor and Medicare Classroom Aide through the Retired and Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP).

First Lady School Breakfast Champion Recipients:

Power Public Schools for the startup of a new school breakfast program.
Hardin Public Schools for increased participation in an existing school breakfast program.
Winnett K-12 Schools for a long-standing tradition of excellence in serving school breakfast.

Read about the 2015 First Lady School Breakfast Champions

Read about the 2015 Award Recipients

Read about the 2014 Award Recipients

Read about the 2013 Award Recipients

Read about the 2012 Award Recipients

Line Break