Montanans Honored for Outstanding Volunteer Service, School Breakfast Programs

Governor and First Lady Bullock Present Awards at Annual Ceremony

HELENA, MT- Governor Steve Bullock, First Lady Lisa Bullock, and the Montana Commission on Community Service today recognized the 2016 recipients of the ServeMontana and First Lady School Breakfast Champion awards. These awards are presented annually to outstanding community volunteers, organizations, and schools for their service to Montana.

“Growing up in Montana, I’ve been fortunate to witness firsthand the willingness of Montanans to lend a helping hand to those in need and make a difference in our communities,” said Governor Steve Bullock. “Today I’m honored to recognize these extraordinary Montanans for their daily acts of kindness and years of contributions that have greatly benefitted others. These volunteers embody a strong spirit of service that runs deep in this state.”

Joining Governor and First Lady Lisa Bullock was Karin Olsen Billings, Chair of the Montana Commission on Community Service, and Dan Ritter, Director of the Governor’s Office of Community Service. They presented seven ServeMontana Awards to outstanding community volunteers and organizations who, through their dedication and commitment to service, have greatly enhanced civic life in Montana. Over 60 individuals and organizations were nominated by the public in the fall of 2015 to receive a 2016 ServeMontana Award. Award recipients were selected by the Montana Commission on Community Service through a review process.

Additionally, First Lady Lisa Bullock presented the First Lady School Breakfast Champion Awards to schools that encourage success for all students in Montana through the initiation and continued support of school breakfast programs. Recipients were selected in partnership with Montana No Kid Hungry, Montana Office of Public Instruction, and the Governor’s Office.

“As a mother of three school-aged children and as a parent concerned with all kids in our Montana schools, I am honored to present these awards to five Montana schools who are committed to their students’ success,” First Lady Lisa Bullock said. “My hope is that other schools in Montana will follow in their footsteps, and that soon, every student in Montana will have access to a healthy breakfast at the beginning of their school day, leading to a bright academic future.”

2016 ServeMontana Award recipients:

Dick and Linda Juvik (Helena): The Juviks have dedicated countless hours bringing awareness to Montana’s 55 POW/MIA. Through their advocacy, they designated US 287 as the POW/MIA Memorial Highway, planned the annual Montana Ride to Remember, helped establish the Montana POW/MIA Awareness Association, and more.

Carla Parks (Thompson Falls): Carla has transformed Thompson Falls by leading the town on a path toward economic recovery, enhanced recreation through trails and parks, and historical preservation. In addition to serving as mayor from 2010-2015, Carla is involved with the Fort Thompson Playground Committee, High Bridge Historic Restoration Project, and the Montana Main Street Program.

Crowley Fleck, PLLP (statewide): Crowley Fleck, one of the oldest and largest law firms in Montana, has a notable commitment to corporate social responsibility through its statewide in-house pro bono program that represents low income Montanans. Attorneys with Crowley Fleck have contributed over 4000 hours of services and have raised awareness of access to justice issues across the state for 20 years.

Lily’s Lovebirds (Missoula): 10-year-old Montanan, Lily Miller, sews fabric-scrap lovebirds to help girls go to school in Nepal and around the world. With help from her younger sister, Maizy, family, and friends, Lily’s Lovebirds has raised over $4,000 to help send 25 girls to school for a year in Nepal and fund scholarship opportunities.

Schylar Canfield-Baber (Butte): As a former foster care youth, Schylar has spent most of his adult life advocating for foster care students in Montana and nationwide. As an articulate spokesman for others in the system, Schylar served as the President of the Board of Directors of Montana CASA, and currently serves on boards for FosterClub, Childwise Institute, Protect Montana’s Kids Commission, and more.

St. Peter’s Hospital Volunteer Department (Helena): More than 150 volunteers serve at St. Peter’s Hospital Volunteer Department, performing essential roles each day. Volunteers with the No One Dies Alone (NODA) program accompany patients in their last hours, while volunteers with the Cancer Treatment Center offer support to people going through treatment. Additionally, volunteers deliver flowers, fold laundry, and manage the front desk.

RuthAnn Hutcheson (Glasgow): For the past 25 years, RuthAnn has planned, organized, and run the Valley County Thanksgiving Day Dinner to serve meals to 150 people each year. RuthAnn is known for always jumping in to help others by serving with the Booster Club, feeding the football team every week, and visiting people in the hospital.

2016 First Lady School Breakfast Champion recipients:

Miles City Public Schools: Startup of a new school breakfast program.
Billings Senior High School: Increased participation in an existing school breakfast program.
Browning Public Schools: Increased participation in existing school breakfast programs.
Fairfield School District: Long-standing tradition of excellence in serving school breakfast.
Roosevelt Elementary School: Food Service Staff of the Year.

For awardee descriptions and photos, please visit

The 2016 ServeMontana and First Lady School Breakfast Champion awards were sponsored by the Montana Credit Union Network.

The Governor’s Office of Community Service expands and promotes National Service and volunteerism in Montana and engages citizens in service and emergency preparedness.

Line Break