Media Advisory: Commemorating MLK through Service

Montanans Volunteer in Honor of the Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday

HELENA, MT- The Governor’s Office of Community Service announced today that National Service members and community volunteers across Montana will honor Dr. Martin Luther King’s legacy by serving this January. In partnership with Montana Campus Compact, AmeriCorps State and VISTA members and Senior Corps citizens have organized MLK Day service opportunities in several communities throughout the state. Contact information for each event is provided below.

In honor of Martin Luther King Jr.’s commitment to service, Montana State Park AmeriCorps (MSPA) in partnership with Montana Campus Compact and several community organizations will host a community dinner and youth rally on MLK Jr. Day, January 16th at Missoula’s St. Paul Lutheran Church from 4:00 PM to 8:00PM. The youth rally taking place at Missoula’s Caras Park starts at 5:00PM.

Additionally, Energy Corps AmeriCorps members in collaboration with Red Feather Group and other community partners will weatherize 30 homes from January 17th and 18th on the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Volunteers will work on installing window plastic, weatherstripping, hot water tank wraps, and several low-cost energy conservation measures in households across Lame Deer and Ashland, Montana. Energy Corps members will also present on home energy efficiency to the St. Labre Youth and Family Services Outreach group on January 17th at 9:00 AM. The presentation is located at Lame Deer’s Catholic Church on the corner of Cheyenne Ave. and Hwy 212 and is open to the public.

AmeriCorps VISTA, Senior Corps and volunteers will participate in Read for Peace projects that place volunteers in kindergarten through third-grade classrooms. MLK Read for Peace provides college student volunteers, community members, and National Service participants the opportunity to spread the message of Dr. King to elementary school students in Montana. This year’s Read for Peace projects will be held the Friday before MLK Jr. Day on January 13th.

Contact information for local Read for Peace projects:

Bigfork, MT—ACES with Flathead Valley Community College:

Carter Ollervidez, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: Ollervidez@mtcompact.org

Billings, MT—Rocky Mountain College/Girl Scouts of Montana and Wyoming

Ashley Burke, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: burke@mtcompact.org

Butte, MT—MT Tech

Noah Davis and Brant Ahlborn, MTCC AmeriCorps Leaders: davis@mtcompact.org  or Ahlborn@mtcompact.org

Darby, MT—Bitterroot College

Jason Forges, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: forges@mtcompact.org

Great Falls, MT—UGF and Great Falls College

Sarah Rigby, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: rigby@mtcompact.org

Hans Hyppolite, MTCC VISTA: hyppolite@mtcompact.org

Havre, MT—MSU Northern

Ben Dillon, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: Dillon@mtcompact.org

Helena, MT

Lenore Helman, MTCC VISTA: helman@mtcompact.org

Rebecca Goltz, MTCC VISTA: goltz@mtcompact.org

Lame Deer, MT

Scarlett Day-Aleman, MTCC VISTA: day-aleman@mtcompact.org

Missoula, MT—UM and Montana Campus Compact

Sam Garetson, MTCC VISTA: Garetson@mtcompact.org

Margaret Cobb, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: cobb@mtcompact.org

Sidney, MT—Richland County Boys and Girls Club

Ian Walker, MTCC AmeriCorps Leader: walker@mtcompact.org

In 1994, Congress designated the Martin Luther King Jr. Federal Holiday as a national day of service. The Corporation for National and Community Service, a federal agency, leads the annual MLK Day of Service, working with the King Center in Atlanta and thousands of nonprofit groups, faith-based organizations, and schools and businesses nationwide. For further information about the MLK Day of Service visit nationalservice.gov/mlkday or mtcompact.org/mlkreadforpeace.

The Governor’s Office of Community Service expands and promotes national service and volunteerism in Montana and engages citizens in service and emergency preparedness. Visit serve.mt.gov.

###

Line Break